iEFIS Explorer Lite

Post here anything related to the MGL EFIS systems
Forum rules
Please keep your posts friendly and on topic. No politics or discussions of a controversial nature not related to our favorite subject of flying and avionics. Offending posts may be removed or moderated.
Peter2480

iEFIS Explorer Lite

Post by Peter2480 »

Hello Rainier
I have a Stratomaster iEFIS Explorer Lite installed in WS microlight. I have broken the spigot for attachment of the pitot tube. Is this part available?

Regards
Peter Martin
Richmond Hill. NSW. Australia.
rainier
Site Admin

Re: iEFIS Explorer Lite

Post by rainier »

This forms part of the actual pressure sensor so you likely have to replace the part. It is a type MP3V5010DP from NXP. You can get it from Digikey or similar.
Note that you need to drill a small hole into the bottom of the sender (use the old one as example). Do not drill too deep - just through the material, no more. This hole then forms the connection between the pitot port and the altimeter chip below the sensor using an o-ring as seal.
After you installed the new sensor you need to calibrate it - perform the normal zero point procedure (from the setup menu) and then using a calibrated pressure source set the altitude. We use a pressure of 105mm of H2O for 90mph. You can build a suitable manometer from a few plastic pipes and a ruler. The calibration is entered as a relative value where 100% means the sender acts exactly as per specification. Typical values you will end up with might be from say 95 to 105%.
Peter2480

Re: iEFIS Explorer Lite

Post by Peter2480 »