Canadian maps

Post here for anything that does not fit any of the categories below. Any topic related to MGL and flying welcome.
Forum rules
Please keep your posts friendly and on topic. No politics or discussions of a controversial nature not related to our favorite subject of flying and avionics. Offending posts may be removed or moderated.
Ken

Canadian maps

Post by Ken »

I'm new to MGL forum as well as MGL products. I'm situated in Ontario Canada and am looking for Canadian maps for my G3 touch screen. I have never downloaded anything into my EFIS yet and am a little hesitant. I'm looking for Canadian maps ( Ontario is priority ) and directions where and how to install into my EFIS. Thanks Ken
colin

Re: Canadian maps

Post by colin »

I'm in Brockville on. I just bought an EFIS Lite . It was shipped with Southern Canada maps but no airport info. Let me know if you were able to get the data for southern Canada .

Thanks
Ken

Post by Ken »

Hi Colin
Im in Cambridge and my EFIS to best of my knowledge there is no maps installed in my EFIS touch. I have it installed but aircraft is not ready to fly yet. I have played around with it a bit but says no raster maps available. I have contacted Jeppensen and after a considerable amount of time with them they said the Nav download for all of Canada would work. (174.00) per year. It has airports SIds STARS VOR. I only fly VFR so that stuff is not really needed. So far I like the EFIS but a little dissapointed that these manufactures seem to forget that Canada exists.
rainier
Site Admin

Post by rainier »

The EFIS supports two simultaneous map systems: Vector maps and Raster maps.

Vector maps
---------------
This is a map that is created by the EFIS based on the terrain data, Cultural data (towns, cities, roads, railway lines etc) and Aeronautical data.
On the G3 iEFIS terrain data is installed that covers the globe. The pre-installed VMAP.EVD file in your maps folder contains cultural data for the World.